Board and Bylaws

AIR was created by a network of producers and it continues to be a producer-led organization, thanks to an active board of directors and advisers from public media and beyond.

We encourage our network and colleagues to read AIR’s bylaws, peruse our annual surveys of independent producers, and keep up with the board’s activities through the annual all-members meeting and the minutes of the board’s quarterly meetings.

Board elections are an annual affair. For information about joining the board or one of AIR’s committees, please contact any of the directors:

AIR's Board of Directors

Luis Perez, President | Individual member | Second term ends 2019

Chicago, Illinois
Twitter @northsidelou

Tena Rubio, Vice President & Secretary | Chair, Election Committee | Individual member | Third term ends 2019

Fellow/Faculty Advisor,

USC Annenberg Media Center


Joan Kobayashi, Treasurer | Chair, finance committee | Organizational member (appointed) | First term ends 2018

Vice president and CFO
Greater Public
401 N 3rd St, Suite 370
Minneapolis, MN 55401

Martina Castro, Chair, Membership | Individual member | First term ends 2018

Founder & CEO of Adonde Media
Co-founder Radio Ambulante
Montevideo, Uruguay
Twitter: @martinacastro

Kim Fox, Director | Individual member | First term ends 2019

Associate Professor of Practice, Department of Journalism and Mass Communication, School of Global Affairs and Public Policy

The American University in Cairo
AUC Avenue, P.O. Box 74
New Cairo 11835, Egypt

Rachel Hubbard, Director | Organizational member | First term ends 2020

Associate Director and General Manager at KOSU
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Twitter: @kosurachel

Alex Kapelman, Chair, Programming | Individual member | First term ends 2018

Host of “Pitch,” podcast consultant
Brooklyn, New York

Laura Starecheski, Director | Individual member | Second term ends 2018

Investigative reporter, Reveal
Brooklyn, New York

Melodie Virtue, Chair, Governance Committee | Appointed Director | First term ends 2020

Garvey, Schubert, Barer
Flour Mill Building
1000 Potomac Street, NW, Suite 200
Washington, DC   20007-3501